About Us

Butler County Conservation District was established in 1945


Severe erosion problems in the "Dust Bowl" days prompted the passage of Conservation District Law by the Kansas Legislature in 1937 which lead to the formation of conservation districts in Kansas. 

Board of Supervisors


L-R: Richard Scott - El Dorado, Linda Klaassen - Whitewater, Justin Grunder - Cassoday, Walter Burress - Augusta, Russell Janzen - Elbing

Conservation - Development - Self Government


At Butler County Conservation District, we provide local leadership by helping people with the conservation and protection of soil, water and other natural resources. 

Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and Conservation District Staff


Back Row, L-R:  Jeff Parks - NRCS/Division of Conservation Technician, Keith Murrow - Pheasants Forever Private Lands Conservationist, Carey Fieser - NRCS Technician, Justin Kneisel - NRCS Supervisory District Conservationist

Front Row, L-R:  Brenda Nyberg - District Manager, Olivia Haselwood - PBP Clerk, Sandy Koontz - Water Quality/Watershed Restoration and Protection Strategy (WRAPS) Coordinator/District Secretary

Soil Health
Learn more about the basics of soil health and the benefits of healthy soil.

Life in the Soil:  Dig Deeper 

Stewardship, Poster and Limerick Contest and 4-H Fair Theme for 2019!


Learn more about the benefits of healthy soil and why soil health is so important to farmers, ranchers and YOU!

Find out more

We offer cost share programs for implementing conservation practices, natural resources education and information for Kindergarten-Adult, no till drill rental, sale of geo-textile fabric and marking flags.